One Step AHEAD

As I sit here and wonder how
things would have turned out,
Not to have been part of your life
was there ever a doubt.
I would see you again,
i just didn’t know when.
A long time has passed,
wondering how you have been.
Just to see your face one last time is something I
never would have thought,
You have been on my mind all this time,
something that I had always and never forgot.
Life has its ups, and its downs
Seems like you are always fighting it all
And when you think you are one step ahead
You come across the pebble that makes you fall.
Forever looking at stars
Dreaming of ours
Futures unknown
Forever one step ahead
To our ten steps slow
Promises to never look back
To let the past be just that
Suppressing memories
Even those of a happy me
Happier than the one in the mirror some days
Sick of your ways
And your empty words
Of futures unknown
Forever one step ahead
To our ten steps slow
Promising to never look back
To let the past be just that
And I’m thinking of leaving you there
To satisfy the stranger in the mirror
To satisfy me
And my future unknown
Forever one step ahead
To my ten steps slow
I promise to never look back
To never repeat the bad
But to smile instead
At where I’ve been
And to stare at the clouds
To wish on stars
Letting go of ours
And focusing on mine
Dreams defined
My future still unknown
Only one step ahead
To my two steps slow
I’m catching up, not looking back
Keeping the past as just that
Learning to smile at possibilities
And me.

Author:

I do the very best I know how, the very best I can, and I mean to keep on doing so until the end.

Leave a comment